NCSS Service Standards Framework for Social Service Agencies

NCSS leads the social service sector in Singapore through the development and enhancement of service standards. Service standards ensure that: 
  • The interests of clients are safeguarded.
  • Quality services are delivered to clients.
  • Service providers are professional, transparent, and accountable.
  • Service providers can continuously improve and enhance their services.
The Service Standards Framework assesses improvements and impact on clients as a result of a programme.


Service Standards

Enhanced Programme Evaluation System (EPES)


What is the EPES?


The Enhanced Programme Evaluation System (EPES) is an integral part of NCSS Service Standards Framework. An online platform, it allows for regular collection of data relating to critical outputs and outcomes of funded programmes.  For more information on how EPES works, please refer to the EPES explanatory guide

Service Standards Requirements (SSR)


Service Standards Requirements (SSR) are a set of 16 service delivery processes that may critically impact client outcomes. These standards are aimed at improving the quality of services, and adherence to these processes would in turn help to improve client outcomes. For more details on the full 16 standards, please refer to the SSR list.

Quality Assurance

Onsite Assurance (OA) Visits


Onsite assurance (OA) visits ensure that the integrity of the data submitted by the agencies on the Enhanced Programme Evaluation System (EPES) is validated. In addition, compliance to the Service Standards Requirements (SSR) is also assessed to ensure quality of service delivery.  Through deeper understanding of the programme operations and ways client outcomes have been achieved, key areas of learning could also be identified for continuous improvement.

Service Improvement Plans

Service Improvement Plans are developed alongside social service agencies in areas whereby they could improve their programme performance, and in turn, the outcomes achieved by their service users.

Building Capability

Technical Assistance

Technical Assistance is a dynamic, capability building process that aims to enhance the effectiveness of programmes and services that results in greater positive impact on clients. A collaborative capability building process, a customised approach is taken when working with social service agencies.

Service Planning

Data collected through the various component of the NCSS Service Standards Framework helps to inform the identification and projection of clients’ and community needs, as well as in evaluation of service gaps. This could in turn inform service planning strategies to meet better emerging social needs.

Standards & Quality Improvement
Over the last several years, NCSS has begun important conversations with social service agencies about quality and continuous improvement.
From 2014 to 2017, NCSS partnered CARF International and piloted accreditation to explore that as a means of raising quality of service delivery. All 4 social service agencies involved in the pilot received 3-year CARF Accreditation awards.
Contact Us
For enquiries on NCSS Service Standards Framework, please contact:
Mr Lau Kinn Yong
Service Planning and Funding Group